Get Your License
To Become a Auctioneer or Ask Questions About your License:
- Go To Auction School! - See information below
- Call the licensing Board (not GAA) - See information below
NOTE: GAA Georgia Auctioneers Association Offer Continuing Education only
In the United States, auctions are regulated on a state by state basis. The Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) is a general “code of commerce” which serves as the basis for auction law and has been drafted, by many states, into their license law. Auctioneers in states that do not have a license law are required to follow UCC guidelines (Louisiana by analogy).
Online Auction School:
North Georgia School of Auctioneering
North Georgia School of Auctioneering was established in 1994 and is presently approved to teach the pre-license course and continuing education seminars for auctioneers in the following 8 states: Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Arkansas, Louisiana, Tennessee, North Carolina and South Carolina. We also offer the 30 hour qualifying course for Tennessee auctioneers.
We are also an approved real estate school offering continuing education classes for real estate agents in Georgia. Our 85 hours pre-license course to become an auctioneer also qualifies for the 25 hour post license course or 24 hours CE credit for real estate license in Georgia.
Southeastern School of Auctioneering
SSA has many Georgia graduates and has been a respected school for years. In addition to new auctioneers, the school is approved to offer CEU to many states. With over 150 combined years of experience, Southeastern School of Auctioneering, LLC Instructors are some of the best in the nation. Many of our instructors are award-winning bid-calling champions, national presenters in the auctioneering industry and all are at the top of their field. Our instructors are truly passionate about their profession, the auctioneering industry, and providing the skills necessary to become the best auctioneer you can be!
State Licensing Board
- State Auction License Required: Yes.
- State License Required for Online-Only Auctions: Yes.
- Minimum Age: 18
- School/ Apprenticeship Required: Yes
- Bonding/Insurance Required: $150 to recovery Fund
- Licensing Period: Two years, expires February 28th on even years
- Continuing Education: Yes, 8 hours every two years
- Exam ($70)
- Application ($200)
- Renewal ($150)
- Reciprocity: The Georgia commission does not maintain an official list but looks at individual states’ requirements when making a decision on reciprocity. Application required.
- State Auctioneers Association: Georgia Auctioneers Association
AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS BY STATE
In the United States, auctioneer license requirements vary from state to state. Please visit our Auctioneer License Requirements by State page for additional licensing laws and auction resources for each state.
*Courtesy in part of: The National Auctioneers Association